The Seventy Years Declaration: A Summary of Key Points

The Seventy Years Declaration

  • Robustly condemns Stalinist tyranny
  • Calls for distinct, separate recognition of the various European tragedies of the 20th century
  • Opposes various East European attempts to glorify Nazi collaborator organisations, specifically mentioning the honouring of the Waffen SS in Estonia and Latvia, and the Lithuanian Activist Front in Lithuania
  • Acknowledges the need to honour Jewish partisans who joined the battle against Hitler, a reference to Lithuanian government efforts to prosecute Holocaust Survivors who joined the resistance
  • Opposes attempts to inflate the definition of “genocide” to encompass sundry crimes of totalitarian regimes
  • Calls for the remembrance of the millions of non-Jews who suffered under various tyrannies, and for the need to memorialise the horrific crimes of Stalinism.

The full text of the Seventy Years Declaration is as follows:

On this the 70th anniversary of the formal adoption by the Nazi leadership of the “Final Solution of the Jewish Problem” we the undersigned

Remember : With humility and sadness, the Final Solution plan which formalised and industrialised the by-then ongoing Holocaust of European Jewry The horror and brutality of the genocidal campaign of total annihilation of European Jewry conducted by the Nazis and their collaborators That the mass killing of European Jewry preceded that formal adoption of the Final Solution plan by half a year, and began on the Eastern Front in 1941 upon the initiation of Operation Barbarossa and the Nazi attack on the Soviet Union That millions of non-Jews suffered in numerous ways under the Nazis and other forms of tyranny in Europe during the Second World War.

Recognise : The Nazi campaign of annihilation of the Jewish people was philosophically, qualitatively and practically profoundly distinct and different to other forms of oppression experienced by European people during World War II, such as the horrors of Stalinism also before and after the War . Our dismay that the lessons of the Holocaust were not learnt and genocide continues to occur in the international arena.The nobility of Jewish partisans who survived ghettos or camps and went on to fight the Nazis and their allies . The efforts of European states to acknowledge forthrightly their role in the Holocaust past . That discussion about genocide in Europe must be based on the definition of the UN Genocide Convention 1948 . That antisemitism continues in various forms in Europe and beyond.

Reject : Attempts to obfuscate the Holocaust by diminishing its uniqueness and deeming it to be equal, similar or equivalent to Communism as suggested by the 2008 Prague Declaration . Equating Nazi and Soviet crimes as this blurs the uniqueness of each and threatens to undermine the important historical lessons drawn from each of these distinct experiences . Attempts to have European history school books rewritten to reflect the notion of “Double Genocide” (“equality” or “sameness” of Nazi and Soviet crimes) . As unacceptable the glorification of Nazi Allies, and of Holocaust perpetrators and collaborators, including the Waffen SS in Estonia and Latvia, and the Lithuanian Activist Front in Lithuania . Attempts to legalise or sanitize the public display of the swastika by racist and fascist groups . Efforts to have the Holocaust remembered on one common day with the victims of Communism .

Advocate : Distinct days and distinct programs to remember the Holocaust and other victims of other twentieth century totalitarian regimes . EU member states continue efforts to acknowledge their own roles in the destruction of European Jewry . The need for ongoing genuine Holocaust education and memorialisation across the European Union . Opposition to all forms of contemporary racism and discrimination and its manifestation, including antisemitism, contempt for Muslims, hate of Roma, homophobia, and other prejudice and intolerance generated by extremist politics.


Founding Signatories, being members of the European Parliament and of national parliaments in the European Union, who signed the Seventy Years Declaration prior to the end of 20 January 2012:


Jörg Leichtfried, MEP Austria

Hannes Swoboda, MEP, Austria


Louis Michel, MEP, Belgium

Frédérique Ries, MEP, Belgium


Evgeni Kirilov, MEP, Bulgaria


Hannu Takkula, MEP, Finland


Catherine Trautmann, MEP, France


Volker Beck, Member of Bundestag, Germany

Knut Fleckenstein, MEP, Germany

Jutta Haug, MEP, Germany

Lukrezia Jochimsen, Member of Bundestag, Germany

Jan Korte, Member of the Bundestag, Germany

Constanze Krehl, MEP, Germany

Christian Lange, Member of the Bundestag, Germany

Monika Lazar, Member of the Bundestag, Germany

Jo Leinen, MEP, Germany

Jerzy Montag, Member of Bundestag, Germany

Norbert Neuser, MEP, Germany

Petra Pau, Member of the Bundestag, Germany

Bernhard Rapkay, MEP, Germany

Dagmar Roth-Behrendt, MEP, Germany

Martin Schulz, MEP, Germany

Jutta Steinruck, MEP, Germany

Barbara Weiler, MEP, Germany

Prof. (em.) Gert Weisskirchen, Member of the Bundestag [1976 – 2009]

Gabriele Zimmer, MEP, Germany


Kinga Göncz, MEP, Hungary

Zita Gurmai, MEP, Hungary

Edit Herczog, MEP, Hungary


Proinsias De Rossa, MEP, Ireland


Paolo De Castro, MEP, Italy

Vincenzo Lovine, MEP, Italy

Niccolò Rinaldi, MEP, Italy

Giommaria Uggias, MEP, Italy


Boriss Cilevičs, Member of Saeima, Latvia

Sergejs Dolgopolovs, member of Saeima, Latvia

Alexander Mirsky, MEP, Latvia

Tatjana Ždanoka, MEP, Latvia


Vytenis Povilas Andriukaitis, Member of Seimas, Lithuania

Vilija Blinkevičiūtė, MEP, Lithuania

Justinas Karosas, Member of Seimas, Lithuania

Justas Paleckis, MEP, Lithuania

Marija Aušrinė Pavilionienė, Member of Seimas, Lithuania

Julius Sabatauskas, Member of Seimas, Lithuania

Algirdas Sysas, Member of Seimas, Lithuania

Birutė Vėsaitė, Member of Seimas, Lithuania


Jan Mulder, MEP, Netherlands


Elisa Ferreira, MEP, Portugal

Ana Maria Gomes, MEP, Portugal


Ioan Enciu, MEP, Romania


Boris Zala, MEP, Slovakia


Tanja Fajon, MEP, Slovenia


Miguel Angel Martínez, MEP, Spain


Göran Färm, MEP, Sweden

Olle Schmidt, MEP, Sweden

United Kingdom

Luciana Berger, MP, United Kingdom

Martin Callanan, MEP, United Kingdom

The Baroness Deech D.B.E, House of Lords, United Kingdom

Andrew Duff MEP, United Kingdom

Louise Ellman, MP, United Kingdom

Mike Freer, MP, United Kingdom

Stephen Hughes, MEP, United Kingdom

Lord Janner of Braunstone, House of Lords, United Kingdom

Baroness Sarah Ludford, MEP, United Kingdom

Denis MacShane, MP, United Kingdom

John Mann, MP, United Kingdom

Linda McAvan, MEP, United Kingdom

Bill Newton Dunn, MEP, United Kingdom

Matthew Offord, MP, United Kingdom

Charles Tannock, MEP, United Kingdom

Please Sign The Declaration

(Takes One Minute)


click here


(Not for publication but for SYD verification and communication with organisation)


click here